The Classic Rivington Pike

Calder Valley FR’s biggest guns were not in evidence at the historic Rivington Pike but as it was a club championship counter 20 runners took part in the red and white hooped vests.

Andrew Davies Rivington Pike

Andy Davies going well at Rivington

The race is just short of 700ft of climbing in 3.2 miles and it is a brutally fast race. It has been held on the Saturday before Easter Sunday since 1892 and originally started from the Horwich railway works, but since 1930 runners have set out from the park entrance at Lever Park Avenue. The Pike, at 1,191 feet (363 metres) high, is the most westerly high point of Winter Hill in the West Pennine Moors.

John Smith Rivington Pike

1st Calder Valley Jon Smith

Jon Smith was a respectable 22nd place in a field of 264 runners with Mark O’Connor (26th), Simon Giles (32nd) and Iain Powell (35th) formed the third-placed team behind Horwick Harriers and Bolton United Harriers. Valley were also third amongst the veterans men’s teams through Powell, Stephen Smithies (50th) and Richard Ingram (91st). Horwich and Burnden Road Runners took the top two places.

Calder were fourth among the ladies teams through Rachael Crossland (174th), Gillian Wisbey (205th) and Carolyn Shimwell (218th).


The winner was Horwich’s Chris Farrell in 17.36. There was a 13 second gap back to  Pudsey and Bramley’s Rob Hope. Lindsey Brindle was the first female home in 34th overall in 21.28.  She helped make it a clean sweep for the local club who not only had both main winners but also comfortably won the three team prizes.

Iain Powell Rivington Pike

Man Down – Iain Powel at Rivington Pike

22. Jon Smith 20.32
29. Mark O’Connor 21.15
37. Simon Giles 21.37
40. Iain Powell 21.52
42. Lee Shimwell 22.00
50. Stephen Smithies 22.28
53. Martin Howard 22.33
78. Ben Frechette 23.18
91. Richard Ingram 23.50
95. Andrew Davies 23.56
109. Anthony Costello 24.39
111. Darren Sargent 24.45
118. Tim Brooks 25.00
136. Blair Garrett 25.51
169. Nathan Kennaugh 27.51
174. Rachael Crossland 28.03
195. Graham Davy 28.56
205. Gillian Wisby 29.22
212. John Nunn 29.45
218. Carolyn Shimwell 30.20