Red and white success

Club doClub champion: Karl Gray. This is Karl’s 8th title – more than anyone else in the history of the club (he was joint with Gary Webb on 7 titles each before this year). I can’t see anyone overtaking that record for a long time.

2nd: Martin Whitehead. Martin receives 4 trophies – another record, no-one else has ever won 4 trophies in a year

3rd: Dave Culpan. Dave receives 3 trophies, also very impressive!

womens champion: Gillian Wisbey. The first time Gillian has won this

vets champion: Karl Gray. His first vets title. Probably not the last!

V50 champion: Martin Whitehead. Just 1 point off a perfect 300 points.

Handicap champion: Martin Whitehead. NB: the handicap competition could be won by anyone – at the start of the year you have a handicap based on your previous race results, so everyone starts on a level footing. Martin was outscored in the handicap by several people at most of his races, but he was consistent over all the distances and deservedly achieved the highest overall total score.

(The kings & queens: alongside the main club championships, we have these additional competitions. Some people prefer shorter races, so the Short Race King or Queen is the man or woman who scores most points over all five of the short races; likewise for those who do best at the long races, the Long Race King/Queen counts your scores over all five of the long races – and the Medium Race King/Queen over the medium races)

short race king: Dave Culpan. The only person to complete all five short races

short race queen: Gillian Wisbey

medium race king: jointly Dave Culpan and Karl Gray (does this mean Dave can claim to be just as good as Karl on medium races???!!)

medium race queen: Helen Fines

long race king: Martin Whitehead. NB: This year’s long races were serious, tough classics and whoever won the 2012 long race titles would thoroughly deserve the Long Race King title. Martin completed 4 of the 5 longs, including two of the all-time toughest classics (Wasdale and Peris Horseshoe) to win the title by a country mile

long race queen: no woman completed more than a single long championship race this year – it’s not in the spirit of the title to award a Long Race Queen for only doing a single race

most improved: Bill (stats and spreadsheet wizard) feed everyone’s results over the last two years into a big machine with whirring cogs, large levers and flashing lights. It chugs loudly, belching out lots of steam and then finally out pops a card showing whose race results have improved the most over the last 12 to 24 months. This year the machine said that it was a close run thing. It was almost Iain Glendinning, who got impressively quicker in the second half of the year; but the winner of the title is Rob White, whose improvement from last year to this (especially at Widdop and Crowhill this year) was better than anyone else. Rob just about fell off his chair when this award was announced!

Out of interest, other people who registered big improvements in their ratings included: Heidi Rushton, Catherine Plane, Graham Davy, Robert Paradise, Claire Hanson and Chris Godridge.

Runners’ runner of the year: this gets voted on at the Do and is for the person who has made the biggest contribution to the club over the past year. This could be by bringing prestige to the club by performing at a high level, or for helping out with the running of the club. Thirza Hyde was nominated – it’s not the first time she has won this award – and it’s good to see that so many club members recognise the time and effort that she gives to the club. A well deserved award.

navigational cock of the year, and wally of the year: ‘acts of stupidity’ are logged throughout the year, master orienteer James Logue collates them all and awards points according to levels of stupidity, then reveals the results on the night. Navigational cock up of the year was won by James Williams, for managing to go the wrong way in a heavily sign posted relay event and losing over a hundred places in the process. Wally of the year was awarded to Alex Whittem, for numerous acts of stupidity throughout the year, including injuring himself while training for a road race – it was the training for a road race that earnt him the points, why would anyone want to run on a road when there’s miles of moorland to be enjoyed?? Alex Whittem wasn’t present to receive his ‘award’ so Steve Smithies accepted it on his behalf, having only just escaped being awarded the prize himself – Smithies becoming almost notorious for being lost (before and during races!) and late.

In recognition to their founding of CVFR 6 of the original members, who have been members of the club since the start in 1986, were presented with framed commemorative certificate. All of them are still active in the sport of fellrunning.